Minutes Jan 8, 2013 Meeting

Minutes Jan 8, 2013 Meeting

The Salem Township Board of Trustees met January 8, 2013 in regular session at the Salem Morrow Fire Station Conference Room for the purpose of transacting the business of the Township. Vice-President Dick Dare called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M. with member Heath Kilburn present. Mr. Ramsey was attending a pre-planning meeting at the county office. Mr. Dare led all those present in the pledge of allegiance.

Others present: Chief Fred LaFollette, Mike Kassalen, David Opperman and friend, Ron Stratton, Don Lynch, Woodie Davis, Assistant Chief Bill Harrison, John Leesesmann, Jim Kilburn and Ralph Blanton.

The minutes were read and approved and posted on the bulletin board.

There were no updates to the cemetery records for this time period.

The first item of business was to elect a board chairman for 2013. Nominations were opened and Dick Dare made a motion to elect Kirk Ramsey. There were no other nominations and the vote was unanimous to elect Mr. Ramsey as chairman.

Nominations were then open for vice chairman. Heath Kilburn nominated Dick Dare to serve as vice chairman for 2013. There were no other nominations and the vote was unanimous to elect Mr. Dare vice chairman for FY 2013.

Items from the floor:

Ron Stratton remarked on how good the cemetery always looked.

Donald Lynch again brought up the matter of the Lake Motel. He had read the previous meeting’s minutes and asked that the wording of his remarks be changed regarding county and township zoning matters. It was so noted. He stated that the property is out of control by anyone’s standards, and appealed that there have to be violations there.

There were no new zoning issues brought up by the zoning inspector at this time.

Fire Department/Roads
Chief LaFollette had no new business to bring before the board.

Other Business

Dick Dare made a motion to approve the following township policies:
1. The meeting dates will remain the 2nd & 4th Tuesdays at 7:00 PM
2. Gas mileage reimbursement will remain at $.50 per mile
3. Trustees salaries will be paid at an equal rate from the Gas Fund, Road Fund and
General Fund (33 1/3 % from each fund)
Heath Kilburn seconded the motion.      Vote: Mr. Dare,yea      Mr. Kilburn, yea

The next item of business was to re-hire all current personnel.
Mr. Dare made a motion to re-hire the following Fire Department employees:
1. Fire Chief, Fred LaFollette with 70% of his salary charged to the Fire Department and 30% charged to the General Fund for township administrative duties
2. the Assistant Chief, Bill Harrison, whose salary will be charged 75% to the EMS fund and 25% to the Fire Fund
3. The 3 full time Fire Dept employees, all part-time employees and volunteers
4. The 2 full time Township employees, Michael Gilbert and Greg Webb
5. The Zoning Inspector, Mike Kassalen

6. Appoint the Zoning Board: Alan Cornett, Michelle Toller, John Leesemann, Matt Nolan and Mark Davis as an alternate member.
7. Appoint the Zoning Board of Appeals: Larry Newberry, Dave Hartman, Larry Tobler, Rob Haines, Chris Fitzgerald and Bob Glancy.
Mr. Kilburn seconded the motion.       Vote:     Mr. Dare, yea        Mr. Kilburn, yea

Mr. Dare then made a motion to retain the policy for allowing speaking time of 3 minutes for non-residents and 5 minutes for residents, with additional time allowed at the discretion of the board. Mr. Kilburn seconded the motion.        Vote:       Mr. Dare, yea      Mr. Kilburn, yea


The fiscal officer prepared checks #12878- #1934, 91365-91368 which totaled $40,951.81.
The board examined the bills that were ready for payment and Heath Kilburn made a motion to pay the bills as presented. Dick Dare seconded the motion.
Vote:      Mr. Kilburn, yea       Mr. Dare, yea

For this reporting period the fiscal officer deposited receipts in the amount of $11,796.42.
This amount included receipts #7687– #7689.

With no further business to come before the board, Heath Kilburn made a motion to adjourn the meeting at 7:20 P.M. Dick Dare seconded the motion.

Vote       Mr. Kilburn, yea         Mr. Dare, yea